Uncategorized

DIY Baby Puffs

I never even considered making baby food for the older kids, but had my heart set on avoiding prepared foods for Holly from day 1.

This is mostly just because I’ve gained a ton of knowledge about nutrition in the past few years. Also, with all the research about how EVERYTHING has a negative effect on growing bodies, it seems like best practice to keep things as clean and natural as possible!

I started with the purchase of a baby bullet and began processing fruits and vegetables when Holly was 4 months old. Now at 5 1/2 months, she is starting to reach for our meals and show signs that she is ready for finger foods, but going to the store and buying Gerber Puffs just isn’t in line with our mission these days!

So let’s DIY… Yesterday I made up a few batches of foods including sweet potatoes and butternut squash. I left a small amount of each in the processor and added rice cereal, a tsp of baking soda and a half tsp of coconut oil. I mixed these then added a bit of unsweetened applesauce to moisturize. Consistency was similar to a thickened pancake batter. I placed this into a bag and clipped the corner then dotted a wax paper lined baking tray.

Just 15 minutes at 350 and these had dried enough to come out

I let them cool then peeled them loose… they probably could’ve been a touch dryer. Next time I’ll go a bit thicker with the batter and/or bake for a few more minutes, but Holly loves them and I don’t have to stress about what is going into her mouth!

2 thoughts on “DIY Baby Puffs”

Leave a comment